Free Verse · Free verse Poetry · Love · mother · Poetry · Uncategorized

Dearest Mother

Dearest mother,
forgive me
for the flaws in my words,
as I scrape through the walls of my brain,
shifting around things that matter nothing,
and find inspiration to write for
the one thing that matters most to me;
you.

Dearest mother,
without my consent
I was brought into this world,
a crying blubbering mess;
and somehow you managed to make me love
every second of it.
Even when I didn’t I still did, for you;
to repay you
for bringing me here,
so I could meet you.
And I am forever thankful for that.

Dearest mother,
with each tear you wiped,
You took away a bit of my loneliness,
a bit of my despair.
And even though you knew
everything wouldn’t be okay,
you still told me it would,
so I believed you,
and nothing ever felt better,
because I knew you could be strong enough,
for the both of us.

Dearest mother,
I’m sorry for the nights I cried myself to sleep
without letting you know.
I only did because
I couldn’t bear to see the worry lines
crease your forehead,
as you’d forget about your health,
and worry for mine instead.

Dearest mother,
Thank you for being my source of encouragement,
on days when I couldn’t find in me to carry on.
You picked me up, each little broken piece at a time,
and glued them back together.
Hurting your self in the process
on my sharp edges,
you filled empty spaces, pieces lost,
with your own broken remnants
again and again,
eventually so tightly mended,
they’d never come apart again.

Dearest mother,
I know I’m not the best,
and am far from perfect.
I know I make mistakes,
and break your heart often.
But know everything I do is for you;
everything I am is because of you.
I know, I’ve changed colors
because of many things,
but the brightest shade in me
is still the one left by you,
and it grows brighter still.

 Dearest mother,
on days when death crosses my mind
far too many times than it should,
it’s your face that gives me reason
and strength, to carry on,
however hard it may get.
Because you are my anchor,
and as long as I’m tethered to you,
I shall never sink.

Dearest mother,
I want you to promise to never leave me.
Even when you are no longer here,
and I’m no longer here,
I want you to continue flowering within me.
I know how lonely those days are
when you aren’t home
and gone for the day to tend to duties.
It would kill me to know
that one day I might not have you
to come home to
permanently.

Dearest mother,
lastly, I would like to thank you,
for all that you have endured for me
and will continue to do
for as long as I live.
And no matter how difficult it may be,
I will try, with all my heart,
to return the favor one day.

Dearest mother,
I know I don’t tell you often,
but know I’ve never meant anything more
when I say
I love you.06e5bfc3c36b7370613414065d12cd6e

Leave a Reply

