depression · Free Verse · Free verse Poetry · Love · love poem · Poetry · Uncategorized

Cold

A stone cold heart;

Desperate to feel, desperate to love, desperate to beat.

I walk with a rock, the size of my fist,

Replacing the only organ that made me alive.

When I was drowning in sweet sweet reverie of your love,

I do not remember ever asking for you to congeal my heart,

To rip the skin keeping me together,

To split the ribs caging me in,

And plunge in deep to pull out whatever made me human.

 

But now that I am unable to feel,

I will do the same to you,

as unapologetically as you did to me,

Without feeling a smidge of remorse.

Leave a Reply

