depression · Free Verse · Free verse Poetry · mental health · Poetry · Self Harm · Uncategorized

Something Real

I was alone
I was numb
I cut my veins to feel
To feel pain
To feel torment
To feel something.
I stopped
I stopped because I began to feel
Began to hope
Began to love
Not people, but things,
Places,
Myself.
Then I woke up
Woke up from my reverie
Realized
Realized that hope betrays
Love is not for me
And I still hate myself
Realized what I felt was a lie.
Lately I’ve wanted to cut my veins again
So I can feel something again
Something real.

 

2 thoughts on “Something Real

Leave a Reply

